EB-5资本 EB-5开发人员 阅读更多

HARRISLAW代表商业开发商 企业所有者为了利用EB-5移民投资者计划为他们的业务

我们的 董事会认证的移民专家 已成功获得USCIS批准,寻求筹集EB-5资金的商业客户。迈克尔哈里斯代表EB-5区域中心,他们正在寻求筹集至少800万美元的资金,以及2.5亿美元用于各种行业项目。

如何为您的项目使用EB-5计划

当寻求使用EB-5移民投资者计划来开发和资助其项目时,业务开发人员有两种选择:

(1)EB-5直接投资,或

(2)由EB-5区域中心计划资助的投资。

决定使用哪个选项作为资本堆栈的一部分,各有利弊。两者都可以使您为外国投资者提供获得绿卡的能力,以换取他们对您的业务的出资。两种选择之间的主要区别在于所使用的方法和受工作创造影响的时间限制。这是因为仅允许EB-5区域中心创造工作 间接 根据项目的支出和收入,以及 诱发 正如经济影响研究预测的那样,在当地经济上的支出。如果一个项目不隶属于EB-5区域中心,那么它仍然可以从EB-5资本中获益 - 但它可能只依赖于 直接 工作。

什么是EB-5区域中心?

“区域中心”是一家获得美国公民及移民服务局(USCIS)批准的公司,专注于美国境内的特定地理区域,旨在通过提高区域生产力,创造新的就业机会来促进经济增长,以及增加国内资本投资。与区域中心相关联的项目可以利用商业企业创造的直接就业机会,以及根据合理的经济影响研究预测创建的间接和诱导性就业机会。此外,该项目可以选择仅依靠创造的间接就业机会,这可以为大型商业企业带来巨大的好处,而不必依赖直接就业(以及需要的大量就业和税务记录)。

在EB-5区域中心下进行的资本投资是通过位于“区域中心”内的商业企业提供资金的,该区域中心被定义为“促进经济增长的任何经济单位,公共或私人,包括增加出口销售,提高区域生产率,创造就业机会或增加国内资本投资。“为了能够利用EB-5区域中心的利益,申请人必须首先通过提交一份表明其计划如何关注的提案来寻求USCIS批准。美国境内的地理区域和行业或行业,并通过指定的方式实现所需的增长。该提案必须“以可核实的细节显示如何创造就业机会”,以及所承诺的资金数额和来源以及所做和计划的推广工作。

总之,美国公民及移民服务局将要求一个区域中心提案,以显示将从投资者那里获得资金的商业企业的种类;由于资本投入而直接或间接创造的工作;资本投资可带来的其他积极经济影响;区域中心的项目是否位于政府定义的就业目标区域或TEA内(例如,美国人口普查定义的大都市统计区域(MSA)失业率至少为全国平均水平的150%,或者位于“农村”在MSA之外且人口少于20,000人的地区);以及区域中心的管理计划(一旦获得批准并接收EB-5投资资本),以监督其年度报告要求。

为了准备符合EB-5的区域中心提案,移民申请通常需要项目文件(下文讨论),经济影响研究,综合商业计划以及与实际潜在项目有关的私募协议(假设项目不需要私募配售初期)。在开始提出区域中心提案之前,强烈建议业务开发人员进行尽职调查,以确保其项目的可行性。还建议进行其他级别的尽职调查,例如与移民律师和经济学家合作,研究该项目是否会带来足够的直接,间接和/或诱导工作,以及评估项目是否将位于TEA中。

区域中心项目与EB-5直接项目有何不同?

EB-5直接项目的要求与附属于区域中心的项目非常相似。以下项目将EB-5直接项目与区域中心项目区分开来:

1. 经济影响研究。直接项目确实如此 需要进行经济影响研究,因为只允许直接就业。必须在全面的商业计划中以可验证的细节阐明预测的创造就业机会。当投资者向美国公民及移民服务局申请移除其居住条件时,将记录就业和税务记录以及其他证明EB-5资金用于EB的文件。按计划进行-5项目。

2. USCIS预批准。直接项目无需向USCIS寻求项目预先批准。这对于那些不希望等待USCIS裁决新区域中心所需的数月的项目业主来说可能是有益的。新的区域中心申请的USCIS处理时间在4个月到15个月之间变化 - 这是在投资者基于区域中心项目的申请可以提交之前。这种额外的延迟和费用可能并不总是符合项目业主开始工作所需的时间表的最佳利益。请注意,在区域中心获得批准后,在之前批准的地理区域内的后续项目 不需要 美国公民及移民服务局预先批准。因此,如果需要,可以通过向USCIS提交额外申请来申请预先批准,以确认资格和潜在的投资者信心。

3. 什么时候初始投资者可以提交?直接项目可以在拥有一套符合EB-5要求的材料(例如商业计划书,公司文件以及即将开始的实际项目证明)后立即让其投资者提交请愿书。区域中心项目只有在获得批准的区域中心赞助后,才能对新项目执行相同的操作。

4. 向区域中心支付租金。直接项目业主无需向区域中心支付“租金”或费用以获得EB-5资金。 (注意这是 对于拥有其区域中心的项目所有者来说是如此。)区域中心倾向于向参与者收取使用其指定的费用。这可能包括一个组合,包括每个投资者的金额,注册费,通过区域中心借入的EB-5资金的百分比,甚至是项目所有者在企业中的一部分股权。

5. USCIS年度报告。直接项目业主目前不需要每年向USCIS提交其所有EB-5活动的年度报告。区域中心所有者必须在日历年结束之前提交年度报告。未提交年度报告可能导致终止或撤销区域中心的指定。

6. USCIS申请费。直接项目所有者无需支付申请费即可使项目获得USCIS的批准。该项目下的每个投资者提交的文件都将支付他们自己的提交文件费用。寻求通过现有的经USCIS批准的区域中心资助的项目无需支付USCIS申请费;仅当区域中心寻求其指定时,项目希望获得样板批准时,或者区域中心需要向USCIS提交修改时,才需要缴纳申请费。

7. 投资基金可能会被汇集。直接EB-5项目和区域中心项目都可以汇集一组投资者的资金。

8. 投资组合资金允许。这两类项目都可能允许投资者通过投资组合为投资提供资金,但直接项目将要求控股公司完全拥有创造就业机会的基础子公司。

9. 最低投资额$900,000。两种类型的项目都允许以每位投资者$900,000的金额在TEA中进行投资。

10. 需要业务计划。这两类项目都必须有一个全面的商业计划。

11. 集合资金需要私募配售。两种类型的项目,如果汇集资金,应该有一套适当的美国和州证券法合规的发行材料(例如私募配售备忘录,有限合伙协议,认购协议,托管协议等)。

一般项目要求

就EB-5区域中心申请而言,当其获得USCIS批准时,根据该计划寻求EB-5身份的投资者申请人可以进行合格投资(,$900,000或$180万)。通过显示新企业将直接或间接创造此类工作,可以满足为合格的美国工人至少创造10个新的全职工作的要求。还需要注意的是,在美国移民局的最新指导下,EB-5区域中心项目只有在预期至少持续两年的情况下,才能寻求将建筑工作作为直接工作。同样,该项目还可以选择仅依靠一种可验证且合理的经济工作创造方法,该方法表明必要的项目支出或向当地经济的注入将使间接或诱导的工作量最少。

在当今的商业贷款和投资资本市场中,当传统的资金来源可能已越来越无法用于工业发展,房地产,建筑和寻求风险投资的企业时,EB-5移民投资者计划引起了极大的兴趣。如今,越来越多的企业选择通过直接EB-5项目,组建区域中心或通过现有区域中心许可其项目来寻求EB-5资金,以寻求和吸引成千上万的EB-5资金。愿意投资至少$900,000以获得绿卡机会的外国投资者。在HarrisLaw,我们代表EB-5区域中心项目,这些项目寻求的EB-5资金筹集范围为$.1亿至$2.5亿。我们还代理了一些较小的Direct EB-5项目,这些项目的总资金需求仅为$500,000。我们在IIUSA,美国最大的EB-5行业贸易协会IIUSA,美国移民律师协会(AILA)等组织的成员资格中所体现的承诺是我们致力于确保客户在EB-5计划中取得成功的承诺。通过了迈克尔·A·哈里斯(Michael A. Harris)的认证,并获得了佛罗里达律师协会(Florida Bar)的移民和国籍法专家认证。

如果您有兴趣,请 联系我们 欲了解更多信息,我们的办公室将很乐意与您讨论EB-5开发人员计划。

EB-5投资人代理人
董事会认证移民律师迈阿密

blogMail

问我们

你的问题

  • 我们很乐意为您打电话,费用由我们承担。
  • 请选择您需要帮助的移民问题。
  • 这个字段是用于验证目的,应该保持不变。

我们联系
信息

英格拉姆大厦
东南第二大道25号828
佛罗里达州迈阿密33131

HARRISLAW REPRESENTS COMMERCIAL DEVELOPERS & BUSINESS OWNERS IN ORDER TO UTILIZE THE EB-5 IMMIGRANT INVESTOR PROGRAM FOR THEIR BUSINESSES

Our board certified immigration expert has succeeded in gaining USCIS approval for his business clients that seek to raise EB-5 capital. Michael Harris has represented EB-5 Regional Centers who are seeking to raise between as little as $8 million in capital, to $250 million for a variety of industry projects.

HOW TO USE THE EB-5 PROGRAM FOR YOUR PROJECT

A business developer has two options when seeking to use the EB-5 Immigrant Investor Program to develop and fund its projects:

(1) a Direct EB-5 Investment, or

(2) an investment funded under the EB-5 Regional Center Program.

Deciding which option to use as part of your capital stack has various pros and cons. Both can allow you to offer a foreign investor the ability to obtain a green card in exchange for their capital contribution to your business. The principal difference between the two options comes down to the methodologies used in and the time-constraints impacted by job creation. This is because only an EB-5 Regional Center is permitted to create jobs indirectly based on the expenditures and revenues of a project, as well as the induced spending on the local economy, as predicted by an economic impact study. If a project is not affiliated with an EB-5 Regional Center, then it may still benefit from EB-5 capital—but it may only rely on direct jobs.

WHAT IS AN EB-5 REGIONAL CENTER?

A “Regional Center” is a company that has been approved by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) to focus on a specific geographical area within the United States by seeking to promote economic growth through improved regional productivity, creation of new jobs, and increased domestic capital investment. A project which is affiliated with an Regional Center can utilize the direct jobs created by the commercial enterprise, as well as the indirect and induced jobs created according to a reasonable economic impact study’s prediction. Further, the project has the option of only relying on the indirect jobs created, which can be a tremendous benefit to large commercial enterprises by not having to rely on direct jobs (and the large volume of employment and tax records needed).

A capital investment made under the EB-5 Regional Center is funded through a commercial enterprise located within a “regional center,” which is defined as “any economic unit, public or private, which is involved with the promotion of economic growth, including increased export sales, improved regional productivity, job creation, or increased domestic capital investment.” To be able to use the benefits of an EB-5 Regional Center, an applicant must first seek USCIS approval by submitting a proposal showing how it plans to focus on a geographical region and industry or industries within the United States and achieve the required growth by the means specified. The proposal must show “in verifiable detail how jobs will be created,” as well as the amount and source of capital committed and the promotional efforts made and planned.

In summary, the USCIS will require a Regional Center proposal to show the kinds of commercial enterprises that will receive capital from investor; the jobs that will be created directly or indirectly as a result of the investment of capital; the other positive economic impacts that will result from the investment of capital; whether the Regional Center’s project is located within a government-defined Targeted Area of Employment or TEA (e.g. a U.S. Census-defined metropolitan statistical area (MSA) where the unemployment is at least 150% of the national average, or in a “rural” area that is outside an MSA and has a population of less than 20,000 people); and the management plans for the Regional Center (once approved and receiving EB-5 Investor capital) to oversee its annual reporting requirements.

To prepare an EB-5 compliant Regional Center proposal, the immigration filing will generally require project documentation (discussed below), an economic impact study, a comprehensive business plan, and private placement contracts concerning an actual potential project (hypothetical projects will not require a private placement offering initially). Before commencing a Regional Center proposal, it is highly recommended that a business developer conduct due diligence to assure the feasibility of their project. Other levels of due diligence are also advised, such as working with immigration counsel and an economist to study whether the project will lead to enough direct, indirect and/or induced jobs, as well as evaluating whether the project will be located in a TEA.

HOW IS A REGIONAL CENTER PROJECT DIFFERENT THAN AN EB-5 DIRECT PROJECT?

The requirements for an EB-5 Direct Project are very similar to a project that is affiliated with a Regional Center. The following items distinguish an EB-5 Direct Project from a Regional Center project:

1. Economic Impact Study. A direct project does not require an economic impact study as only direct jobs are allowed. The predicted job creation must be articulated in verifiable detail in a comprehensive business plan. When an investor seeks to petition the USCIS to remove the conditions on his or her residence, proof of the direct job creation will be documented with employment and tax records, as well as other documentation showing that the EB-5 capital was spent on the EB-5 project as planned.

2. USCIS Pre-Approval. A direct project does not have to seek project pre-approval from USCIS. This may be beneficial for project owners who do not wish to wait the many months necessary for USCIS to adjudicate a new Regional Center. USCIS processing times for new Regional Center applications have varied between more than 4 months to 15 months — and this is before an investor’s petition based on a Regional Center project can be filed. This additional delay and expense may not always be in the best interest of a project owner’s desired timeline to commence work. Note that after a regional center has been approved, subsequent projects that are within the previously-approved geographic territory do not require pre-approval by USCIS. Therefore, a pre-approval can be applied for through additional filings with USCIS, if desired in order to confirm eligibility and potential investor confidence.

3. When Can Initial Investors File? A direct project can have its investors file their petitions immediately upon having a set of EB-5 compliant materials (e.g. a business plan, corporate documentation, and proof of the actual project’s imminent commencement). A Regional Center project is able to do the same for new projects only after being sponsored by an approved Regional Center.

4. Rent Payments to a Regional Center. A direct project owner is not required to pay “rent” or fees to a Regional Center to obtain EB-5 capital. (Note that this is not true for project owners who own their Regional Center.) Regional Centers tend to charge a fee for participants to utilize their designation. This may range from a combination including an amount per investor, a signup fee, a percentage of the EB-5 funds borrowed through the regional center, and even a part of the project owner’s equity stake in the enterprise.

5. USCIS Annual Report. A direct project owner is not currently required to submit an annual report on all of its EB-5 activities each year to the USCIS. Regional center owners are required to file an annual report prior to the end of the calendar year. Failure to file an annual report may lead to termination or revocation of a Regional Center’s designation.

6. USCIS Filing Fee. A direct project owner does not have to pay a filing fee to have his project approved by USCIS. Each investor filing under the project will pay their own filing fee. A project seeking to fund through an existing USCIS-approved Regional Center will not need to pay a USCIS filing fee; the filing fee is only required when the Regional Center seeks its designation, when a project wishes to have an exemplar approval, or if a Regional Center needs to file an amendment with the USCIS.

7. Investment Funds May Be Pooled. Both a Direct EB-5 project and Regional Center project may pool funds from a group of investors.

8. Portfolio Funds Allowed. Both types of projects may allow investors to fund investments through portfolios, however a direct project will require a holding company to wholly own the underlying subsidiaries where job creation occurs.

9. Minimum Investment of $900,000. Both types of projects allow for investments to be made in TEAs at a $900,000 amount per investor.

10. Business Plan Required. Both types of projects must have a comprehensive business plan.

11. Private Placement Offering Required for Pooled Funds. Both types of projects, if pooling funds together, should have a set of proper U.S. and State Securities Law compliant offering materials (e.g. Private Placement Memorandum, Limited Partnership Agreement, Subscription Agreement, Escrow Agreement, etc.).

GENERAL PROJECT REQUIREMENTS

In terms of an EB-5 Regional Center application, when it has been approved by USCIS an investor applicant seeking EB-5 status under the program may make the qualifying investment (i.e., $900,000 or $1.8 million) within an approved Regional Center. The requirement of creating at least 10 new full-time jobs for qualified U.S. workers is met by a showing that as a result of the new enterprise, such jobs will be created directly or indirectly. It is also important to note that under recent USCIS guidance, an EB-5 Regional Center project can seek to utilize construction jobs as direct jobs only if they are expected to last at least two years. As well, the project may also choose to rely solely on a verifiable and reasonable economic job creation methodology that shows that the necessary project expenditures or infusion into the local economy will result in the minimum amount of indirect or induced jobs.

In today’s marketplace for commercial loans and investment capital when traditional sources of funding may have become increasingly unavailable for industrial development, real estate, construction, and venture-capital-seeking businesses, the EB-5 Immigrant Investor Program has attracted great interest. Today, more businesses are choosing to seek EB-5 capital, whether through a Direct EB-5 project, by forming a Regional Center, or by having their project licensed by an existing Regional Center, in order to seek and attract the many thousands of foreign investors willing to invest at least $900,000 for the opportunity to secure a green card. At HarrisLaw, we have represented EB-5 Regional Center Projects which have sought EB-5 capital raises ranging from $10 million to $250 million. We also have represented smaller Direct EB-5 projects where the pooled funds sought were as little as $500,000. Our commitment to ensuring our clients success in the EB-5 program is dedicated, as shown through our membership in organizations such as IIUSA, the nation’s largest EB-5 industry trade association, the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA), as well as through Michael A. Harris’s certification by the Florida Bar as a specialist in Immigration and Nationality Law.

If you are interested, please contact us for more information and our office will be happy to discuss the EB-5 developer program with you.

EB-5 Investors Attorney
board certified immigration attorney miami

blogMail

Ask Us

Your Question

  • We would be happy to give you a call at our expense.
  • Please select an immigration issue that you need assistance with.
  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Our Contact
Information

The Ingraham Building
25 SE 2nd Avenue, Ste. 828
Miami, Florida 33131