对于某些跨国公司,有必要将外国雇员长期留在美国。在招生期限上有限制 临时非移民签证,在美国停留六到七年通常不足以实现其商业企业的目标。因此,基于美国企业不断增长的市场需求,美国雇主可以通过绿卡申请无限期地保留外国雇员。没有这种利益,如果没有外国工人,美国经济和其他合法美国工人的就业机会可能会受到损害。

EB-1签证的第三类,有时也称为EB-1C,是寻求在美国永久居留的外国雇员的一种选择。针对跨国公司经理或高管的EB-1签证类别具有类似的要求作为的资格 跨国公司内部转账的L-1签证。类似于L-1,要符合资格,美国雇主必须向USCIS提交请愿书,以请求执行人员或管理人员的永久雇用。但是,不要求员工处于L-1状态。 L-1的一些典型要求也适用于EB-1C签证类别: 

1.雇员必须在海外工作过,并且该组织在某种程度上与准美国雇主有关联,并且在雇员进入美国之前的前三年中连续连续1年。

2.潜在的美国雇主必须与该雇员工作的海外公司有关联。

L-1签证类别与相关的EB-1类别之间的一个核心区别是,EB-1仅适用于在美国以“执行”或“管理”职位受雇的人员,以及那些在海外为关联公司担任类似职位的人。因此,这可能会影响处于L-1B身份的员工,特别是如果他们仅符合作为具有专门知识的跨国员工的资格。因此,一些L-1B签证工作人员可能会寻求将其身份更改为L-1A类别(在获得L身份第5年的最后6个月之前)。这很关键,因为如果L-1B雇员可以转换为L-1A身份,那么他们在美国的入职时间最长为7年。这是更多时间寻求永久居留权。

EB-1跨国绿卡申请的另一个要求是,这家美国公司在向USCIS提交申请之前,必须从事不少于一年的活跃和运营业务活动。这与L-1请愿书不同,后者可以授予创业公司。  

考虑是否寻求EB-1跨国绿卡将取决于员工是否可以记录USCIS要求的必要材料,以及根据多年的监管和案例法洞察力来解释该职位的工作职责。在我们看来 董事会认证专家 在已经提交数百份跨国请愿书并获得批准的移民法中,对EB-1实施的标准比L-1更为困难。欲了解更多信息,请随时 联系我们 免费的初始评估。

[printfriendly]

For some multinational companies, keeping a foreign employee in the United States for an extended period of time is necessary. With the limitations placed on the period of admission workers are granted by temporary nonimmigrant visas, it is common that a six or seven year stay in the United States is not enough to accomplish the goals of their commercial enterprise.  This is why, based on the increased market demands of U.S. business, that a U.S. employer can petition to keep a foreign employee for an unlimited duration of time via a green card.  Without such a benefit, the U.S. economy and jobs for other lawful U.S. workers might be impaired without the foreign worker.

The third category of the EB-1 visa, referred to at times as an EB-1C, is available as an option for a foreign employee seeking permanent residence in the U.S. The EB-1 visa category for Multinational Managers or Executives features similar requirements for eligibility as the L-1 visa for multinational intracompany transfers.  Similar to the L-1, to qualify a U.S. employer must file a petition with the USCIS in order to request the permanent employment of the executive or managerial employee.  However, it is not a requirement that the employee be in L-1 status. Some of the typical requirements for an L-1 also are applicable to the EB-1C visa category: 

1. The employee must have worked overseas for a qualifying organization that is somehow affiliated with the prospective U.S. employer for a continuous period of 1 year in the preceding 3 years prior to the to the employee’s admission into the United States.

2. The prospective U.S. employer must be related to the overseas company where the employee worked.

One core difference between the L-1 visa category and related EB-1 category is that the EB-1 is only available to persons who are to be employed in the United States in an “executive” or “managerial” position, as well as if those held similar positions while overseas for the affiliated company. Hence, this may affect employees who are in L-1B status, especially if they were only eligible as a multinational employee with specialized knowledge.  It is for this reason why some L-1B visa workers may seek to change their status to the L-1A category (prior to the last 6 months of their 5th year of L status). This is critical, because if an L-1B employee can convert to  L-1A status, their period of admission in the United States can be a maximum 7 years. This is more time to seek permanent residence.

Another requirement for the EB-1 Multinational Green Card petition is that the U.S. company be engaged in active and operational business activities for no less than a one year period before it file a petition with USCIS.  This is different from an L-1 petition, which may be granted to a start-up company.  

Considering whether to seek an EB-1 Multinational Green Card will be dependent on whether the employee can document the necessary materials that USCIS will request, as well as explain the job duties of the position as interpreted by years of regulatory and case law insight.  In the opinion of our Board Certified Expert in Immigration law, who has filed and gained approval for hundreds of multinational petitions, the standards imposed on an EB-1 are more difficult than an L-1.  For more information, please feel free to contact us for a free initial evaluation.

[printfriendly]